About Contact Submit Article or Event

Monday, February 20, 2012

Akademi Awards 2011 Presented

Naseem Shafaie receiving the Sahitya Akademi award from Sunil Gangopadhyay

Sahitya Akademi Awards for the year 2011 were presented recently. Among 23 authors, famous poets honoured with the Award are (late) Kabin Phukan (Assamese), Manindra Gupta (Bengali), Premananda Mosahari (Bodo), Naseem Shafaie (Kashmiri), Melvyn Rodrigues (Konkani), Harekrishna Satapathy (Sanskrit), Aditya Kumar Mandi (Santali) and Khaleel Mamoon (Urdu).

The well-known novelists Kashinath Singh (Hindi), Gopalakrishna Pai (Kannada), Kshetri Bira (Manipuri), Kalpanakumari Devi (Odia), Baldev Singh (Punjabi), Atul Kanakk (Rajasthani) and S. Venkatesan (Tamil) also received the awards.

Lalit Magotra (Dogri), Grace (Marathi) and Samala Sadasiva (Telugu) got the Award for their books of essays.

Khaleel Mamoon receiving the Sahitya Akademi award
Ramachandra Guha (English) for his book of Narrative History, Mohan Parmar (Gujarati) for his book of short stories, M. K. Sanu (Malayalam) for his book of biography and Mohan Gehani (Sindhi) for his book of plays have been honoured.

The Awards in the form of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl and a cheque of Rs. 1,00,000/- was presented to the authors of these books at a special function held here today during the Festival of Letters organized by Sahitya Akademi. Eminent Hindi critic Prof. Namwar Singh was the chief guest of the function and Sumathy Sivamohan, Sahitya Akademi Premchand fellow was the guest of honour.